IODs Distinguished Fellows

Each year, the Executive Council of the INSTITUTE OF DIRECTORS selects the persons(s) of eminence for conferring the Award of ”Distinguished Fellowship” for their outstanding contribution to public service and society.

The first distinguished fellowship of Institute of Directors was conferred upon Bharat Ratna Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam in 1994.

IOD Roll Of Honour 

  • An individual, who is duly admitted by the Council as a Distinguished Fellow, either in recognition of his services to the Institute, or because of his status, expertise, experience, or standing in matters relating to public affairs, companies or other bodies is such, that he appears to the Council to be able to render assistance in promoting the aim and objects of the Institute
  • Distinguished Fellow shall, be for life, and be entitled to the normal privileges and obligations of membership of the Institute. He will not be liable to pay any Annual Subscription to the Institute, but have no voting rights at the AGM. He is entitled to use the initials DF.IOD, after his name.

IOD Distinguished Fellows

Roll Of Honour

Distinguished Fellows 2022

Mr. Injeti Srinivas

Chairperson, International Financial Services Centres Authority (IFSCA), Govt. of India

former Secy., Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Govt. of India

Dr. Arun Kumar Mehta, IAS

Chief Secretary

Govt. of Jammu And Kashmir

Mr. Prabh Das

Managing Director & CEO

HPCL–Mittal Energy Limited

V Adm Narayan Prasad AVSM, NM, IN (Retd.)

Chairman and MD

Mazagon Dock Shipbuilders Limited

Distinguished Fellows 2020

Peter Ong Boon Kwee

Chairman, Enterprise Singapore & Sr. Economic Advisor, Ministry of Trade & Industry

Govt. of Singapore

Distinguished Fellows 2019

Helen Brand OBE

Chief Executive, ACCA - Association of Chartered Certified Accountants

United Kingdom

Sir. David Clementi

Chairman, BBC The British Broadcasting Corporation

United Kingdom

Durga Shanker Mishra IAS

Secretary, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs

Govt. of India

Sumanta Chaudhuri IAS

Secretary, Ministry of Coal

Govt. of India

Shashi Shanker

Chairman & MD, ONGC


Mohamed Yahya Kazi Meeran

Director & Group CEO
Galadari Brothers Co. LLC


H.E. Dr. Ahmed Al Banna

Ambassador of UAE to India


Distinguished Fellows 2018

KWA Chong Seng Singapore

Chairman, Singapore Exchange Ltd., Chairman, ST Engineering, Dy. Chairman, PSC


Chua Sock Koong

Group CEO, Singapore Telecommunications Limited (Singtel)


H.E. Karan Singh Thakral

Ambassador of Singapore to Denmark, Govt. of Singapore;
ED, Thakral Group of Companies


Donald H. Brydon , CBE

Chairman, London Stock Exchange Group & Sage Group Plc

United Kingdom

Sir Richard Stagg , KCMG

Chairman, Rothschild, Former High Commissioner of UK to India
Ambassador to Afghanistan & Bulgaria

United Kingdom

Mrs. Rajashree Birla

Chairperson, Aditya Birla Group Centre for Community Initiatives & Rural Development


Dr. Anoop Kumar Mittal

Chairman & MD
NBCC (India) Ltd.


Kuljit Singh Popli

Chairman & MD, Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd. (IREDA)


Justice Jayant Patel

Former Acting Chief Justice, High Court Gujarat, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka


Gautam Sashittal

CEO, DMCC (Dubai Multi Commodities Centre)