IODs Distinguished Fellows

Each year, the Executive Council of the Institute of Directors selects the persons(s) of eminence for conferring the Award of ”Distinguished Fellowship” for their outstanding contribution to public service and society.

The first Distinguished Fellowship of Institute of Directors was conferred upon Bharat Ratna Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam in 1994.

IOD'S Roll Of Honour 

  • An individual, who is duly admitted by the Council as a Distinguished Fellow, either in recognition of his services to the Institute, or because of his status, expertise, experience, or standing in matters relating to public affairs, companies or other bodies is such, that he appears to the Council to be able to render assistance in promoting the aim and objects of the Institute
  • Distinguished Fellow shall, be for life, and be entitled to the normal privileges and obligations of membership of the Institute. He will not be liable to pay any Annual Subscription to the Institute, but have no voting rights at the AGM. He is entitled to use the initials DF.IOD, after his name.

IOD Distinguished Fellows

Roll Of Honour

Distinguished Fellows 2020

Peter Ong Boon Kwee

Chairman, Enterprise Singapore & Sr. Economic Advisor, Ministry of Trade & Industry

Govt. of Singapore

Distinguished Fellows 2019

Helen Brand OBE

Chief Executive, ACCA - Association of Chartered Certified Accountants

United Kingdom

Sir. David Clementi

Chairman, BBC The British Broadcasting Corporation

United Kingdom

Durga Shanker Mishra IAS

Secretary, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs

Govt. of India

Sumanta Chaudhuri IAS

Secretary, Ministry of Coal

Govt. of India

Shashi Shanker

Chairman & MD, ONGC


Mohamed Yahya Kazi Meeran

Director & Group CEO
Galadari Brothers Co. LLC


H.E. Dr. Ahmed Al Banna

Ambassador of UAE to India